News & Press: NYSSPA News

NYSSPA 2020 Award Recipients

Monday, July 20, 2020  
Posted by: NYSSPA Staff
Share |

Membership Award Winners:
Thank you to all the NYSSPA members who submitted nominations for the 2020 NYSSPA Member Awards, especially PAs from Central NY who submitted multiple nominees!
Traditionally these awards are formally presented at the Fall CME Conference; 2020 will be no different! Given the change to a virtual conference in light of the COVID-19 pandemic, winners will be recognized during a virtual Gala. Access to the Gala is included in the conference registration fee. The following have been selected as the 2020 recipients:

  • PA of the Year: Francine Osikowicz, PA-C
  • Paul Lombardo, MPS, PA-C Emeritus Educator of the Year Award: Susan Cappelmann, MS, PA-C
  • Physician Advocate of the Year: Mitchell Lebowitz, MD, FACE

2020 Presidential Honorees
Each NYSSPA President has the opportunity to bring forth Presidential Honorees, a chance to recognize those who have made immeasurable contributions to the PA profession in NYS. These individuals are a different set of honorees than NYSSPAs PA of the Year, Educator of the Year and Physician Advocate of the Year who are nominated and voted on by members, highlighted elsewhere in the newsletter. The names and accomplishments of the 2020 NYSSPA Presidential Honorees are:

  • Assemblyman Richard Gottfried
  • Richard Park, MD, MBA
  • Niels Schmidt, MBA, PA-C Emeritus

Read More about each award recipient at



P: 917-679-4005